Periodic cycle of Legislative Council elections following the 1980 Legislative Council re-division (Constitution Amendment Act 1980) Operative from 24 May 1981.

| Division | Allocated member | First periodic election after redistribution |
|--------------|------------------|--|
| Gordon | A J Broadby | 1982 |
| Hobart | K J Venn | 1982 |
| Launceston | R W Shipp | 1982 |
| Pembroke | Р С МсКау | 1983 |
| Queenborough | W C Hodgman | 1983 |
| Tamar | J A Coates | 1983 |
| West Devon | W T Young | 1983 |
| Cornwall | V M Le Ferve | 1984 |
| Huon | P C L Hodgman | 1984 |
| Mersey | H W Braid | 1984 |
| Derwent | C L Batt | 1985 |
| Meander | R T Hope | 1985 |
| Westmorland | O H Gregory | 1985 |
| Buckingham | K F Lowrie | 1986 |
| Macquarie | G A Shaw | 1986 |
| South Esk | R C Archer | 1986 |
| Monmouth | S J Wilson | 1987 |
| Newdegate | R W Ginn | 1987 |
| Russell | A W Fletcher | 1987 |